

U.R.S.I. Landesausschuss in Deutschland e.V. Kleinheubacher Tagung 2023 Miltenberg • Germany • 26. - 28. September 2023

# Kleinheubacher Tagung 2023 Miltenberg, September 26 - 28, 2023

# 3<sup>rd</sup> Call for Papers

U.R.S.I. Landesausschuss in Deutschland e.V.

The Kleinheubacher Tagung 2023, organized by the Landesausschuss in Deutschland e.V., will be held during September 26 - 28, 2023 in Miltenberg, Germany, at the Old Townhall (Altes Rathaus). Conference languages are English and German.

#### **Topics:**

The list of topics corresponds to the Commissions of the U.R.S.I.:

- A: Electromagnetic Metrology
- B: Fields and Waves
- C: Radio Communication Systems and Signal Processing
- D: Electronics and Photonics
- E: Electromagnetic Environment and Interference
- F: Wave Propagation and Remote Sensing
- G: Ionospheric Radio and Propagation
- H: Waves in Plasmas
- J: Radio Astronomy
- K: Electromagnetics in Biology and Medicine

### **Regular Contributions (Oral):**

Authors are asked to submit regular contributions by July 10th, 2023 via https://kh2023.edas.info/ stating: title, author(s), abstract (in English or German; text only; no more than 500 words; no figures, equations, etc.) and the Commission related to the topic of the contribution. Acceptance notification will be sent by July 24<sup>th</sup>, 2023.

Prospectively, this year, again, in addition to the regular contribution authors may submit a conference paper (2-4 pages, IEEE conference proceedings style) via https://kh2023.edas.info/ latest by 13th of October, 2023. After the usual peer review, this paper will be submitted to the IEEE Xplore Digital Library shortly after the conference, provided that the conference presentation actually took place.

### Young Scientist Awards:

Scientists born in 1988 or later are invited to participate at the Young Scientist Award Program of the Kleinheubacher Tagung 2023. Applications and supporting materials are to be submitted by 26<sup>th</sup> of June, 2023 via https://kh2023.edas.info/. Details can be found on page two of this 'Call for Papers.'

### Call for ,Special Sessions':

The conference organization invites and welcomes suggestions towards the organization of topic-specific 'Special Sessions'. The proposer should provide the ,Session-Title' and the envisaged number of contributions to the Program Chair by 26<sup>th</sup> of June, 2023.

### Further Information:

Additional information about the conference site, accommodation, the conference program, and registration is given on the conference website www.kh2023.de.

Contact person (on behalf of the U.R.S.I. Landesausschuss in der BRD):

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Frank Gronwald, Department Elektrotechnik und Informatik, Universität Siegen, Hölderlinstr. 3, 57076 Siegen, E-Mail: kh2023@uni-siegen.de

President: Ludger Klinkenbusch Secretary: Eckard Bogenfeld

#### **Program Committee:**

Chair: Frank Gronwald

Technical Program Chair: Simon Adrian

Head of Award Committee: Alexander Kraus

Commissions: Thomas Kleine-Ostmann (A) Romanus Dyczij-Edlinger (B) Jens Anders (C) Dirk Killat (D) Frank Gronwald (E) Madhu Chandra (F) Ralph Latteck (G) Christian Vocks (H) Alexander Kraus (J) Lars Ole Fichte (K)





#### **Important Dates:**

By 26 <sup>th</sup> of June, 2023:	Submission of Documents for the Young Scientist Award
By 26 <sup>th</sup> of June, 2023:	Proposals for Special Sessions
By 10 <sup>th</sup> of July, 2023:	Submission of regular contributions, both for regular and special sessions
By 28 <sup>th</sup> of August, 2023:	Early registration at reduced conference fee
September 26 – 28, 2023:	Kleinheubacher Tagung 2023

By 13<sup>th</sup> of October, 2023: Submission of IEEE conference papers (optional)

## Young Scientist Awards / Young Scientist Best Paper Awards on the Occasion of the Kleinheubacher Tagung 2023

As part of our continuing commitment to encouraging the next generation of early-stage researchers, we will offer up to 10 *Young Scientist Awards* including three *Young Scientist Best Paper Awards* during the course of the conference.

The selection of Young Scientist Award (YSA) recipients will be based upon an examination of the documents submitted. Besides originality and creativity, form and clarity of the presented work will be assessed. The YSA includes a certificate, a waiver of conference fees, and a

#### Prize money of 250 €.

All YSA recipients are required to give a talk within the scope of the regular conference program. Additionally, they have the possibility to present their contribution at a special YSA Poster Session. During this posters session, the contributions will be evaluated by an Award Committee. The top three contributions will be awarded a Young Scientist Best Paper Award (YS-BPA). In addition to a certificate and the stated prize money, the recipients will receive:

750 €	(1 <sup>st</sup> Prize),
500 €	(2 <sup>nd</sup> Prize), and
250 €	(3 <sup>rd</sup> Prize).

All YSA und YS-BPA recipients will be honored at the festive closing event of the Kleinheubacher Tagung 2023.

#### Terms of Eligibility

Scientists born 1988 or later and holding a Diploma or Master degree at the minimum are invited to apply. The following documents, written either in German or English, are to be submitted via <a href="https://kh2023.edas.info/">https://kh2023.edas.info/</a> under the category "Young Scientist Award" no later than **26<sup>th</sup> of June, 2023**:

- a) Extended Abstract (3 pages plus bibliography; using IEEE Manuscript Template for Conference Proceedings, download-site: <u>https://www.ieee.org/conferences/publishing/templates.html</u>)
- b) Supplementary documentation (one pdf file), consisting of
  - Curriculum vitae and
  - A letter of recommendation (1 page maximum) from an expert (e.g., the Ph.D. advisor) or a member of the U.R.S.I. Landesausschuss in der BRD.

All applicants will be notified by August 20th, 2023.

Enquires are to be directed to the Head of the Award Committee, Dr. Alexander Kraus, Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy - Radio Observatory Effelsberg -, Max-Planck-Straße 28, 53902 Bad Münstereifel-Effelsberg, Germany, at <u>akraus@mpifr.de</u>.



Union Radio-Scientifique Internationale

International Union of Radio Science